Caledonian Dandie Dinmont Terrier Club

Secretary: Mr Keith Marshall

Treasurer: Mrs Angie Miller

Convenor: Mrs Gill Denham

Vice Convenor: Ms Kirstie Tinkler

Membership Secretary: Mrs Mary Heffernan

Committee member/Puppy co ordinator and Rescue /Rehoming: Mrs Ali Cox-Purcell

Committee member/Stall: Mrs Gina Bell

Committee member/Catering: Mr Derek Adamson

Committee member: Mrs Shirley Dunipace

Committee member: Mr Calum Flanders

Committee member: Mrs Joy Saville

Committee member: Mrs Enid Hansford

Membership Secretary

Mrs Mary Heffernan

39 Greenfield Avenue



+44 7711 984 884


2021 subscription rates

  Family / Joint Single Junior
UK £14 £10 £7
EU £18 £14 £8
Other £19 £15 £8

New members

If you would like to join our Club please download and fill out the membership form and send to our Membership Secretary.

If you are a new Dandie Dinmont puppy owner you will get the remainder of the current year free.

Click here for the current membership form

Current members

You can renew your membership in the following ways.  If you have any queries please contact our Membership Secretary.

Existing members only

Please note if paying by Paypal there is a £1 admin fee added

Membership Type


Account name: Caledonian Dandie Dinmont Terrier Club
Account number: 79040055
Sort code: 55 70 23

Please remember to make clear who the payment is from.  

Sent to our Membership Secretary and made payable to The Caledonian Dandie Dinmont Terrier Club.

Please note that regardless of the month your membership started, future years are due on 1st January.

On Saturday, 14th November 1987 a meeting of owners, breeders and admirers of Dandie Dinmont Terriers was held in the Fleece Hotel, Selkirk to discuss the formation of a Dandie Dinmont Terrier Club of Scotland.

The first paragraph of the first minute book written by Deirdre McLeod.

It was stated that from May through June a petition gathered support for a proposal which would be submitted to the Scottish Kennel Club asking for support and guidance in the formation of a club based in Scotland.

The meeting was attended by 17 people, with apologies for non-attendance being received from a further 14 people.

A steering committee of 6, comprising Mrs McLeod, Mrs Hulme, Mrs Dalziel, Mrs Robertson, Mrs Walkley and Mr McKenzie was formed. From there it was agreed Mr McKenzie would act as treasurer and Mrs McLeod as Secretary.

During discussion described as outstandingly frank and open, a design for the constitution of the proposed club was agreed and the number of officers discussed and agreed.

Founder members were invited with a fee of £5 per person and an entrance/enrolment fee of £5 per person.

There were three names for the club submitted to the Kennel Club on the application form:
The Caledonian Dandie Dinmont Terrier Club“, “The Dandie Dinmont Terrier Club of Scotland” and “The Scottish Dandie Dinmont Terrier Association“. The resultant vote recorded 15, 14 and 13 votes, in that order.

The Club would serve Scotland and the Border Counties.

The application to register the club was made following the meeting and confirmed the C.D.D.T.C. registered in April 1989.

The list of Founder Members recorded as follows:

Mr J. Wiseman, Miss N. Paterson, Mrs D. McLeod, Mrs E. McLeod, Mr J. Robertson, Mrs I. Robertson, Mr P. Hulme, Mrs M. Nealy, Mrs Barnett, Mrs M. Wakley, Miss J. Walkley, Mrs B. Deacon, Mrs E. Dalziel, Mrs E. Melville, Mr P. McGurk, Miss C. McGurk, Mr R. Taylor, Mr A. Crawford, Mrs F. Crawford, Mr J. McKenzie, Mrs M. McKenzie, Mr T. McKenzie, Mr A. Harper, Mrs M. Harper, Mrs Barbour, Miss L. Barbour, Mrs W. Weatherstone, Mr W. Shore, Mrs J. Shore, Miss P. Davidson, Mrs R. Findlayson, Mrs S. Sharpe, Mr Jonas Wiborg, Mrs P. Gibbs, Mr P. Hannigan, Mrs Dalrymple, Mrs M. Dewar, Miss S. Parker, Mrs G. Wilson, Mrs Foster, Mrs Mabon, Mr Hicks and Mrs Hicks.

The election of the first set of Officers and Committee took place 5th August 1989.

  • Convenor – Mrs Dalziel
  • Vice Convenor – Mrs Hulme
  • Secretery – Mrs McLeod
  • Treasurer – Mr Robertson
  • Committee – Miss Paterson, Mrs Nealy, Mr Wiseman, Mrs Walkley, Mrs Robertson, Mr Hicks, Mrs Crawford and Mrs Hicks

Working diligently, the club set to raise funds for a set of “Founders Trophies”.

Taken from Dandie Dialogue 25th Silver Anniversary Edition